Learn about driving regulations and special initiatives aimed at keeping both older drivers and Colorado’s highways safe.
While the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) enforces a plethora of laws and regulations that apply to drivers of all ages and stages, the state imposes certain unique requirements and limits on senior drivers.
The Colorado state standards are discussed in further detail below, but many of them concentrate on recognizing and dealing with elderly drivers who may have become risky. Colorado, in particular:
Drivers 61 and older are required to renew their licenses every five years; drivers 66 and older are prohibited from renewing online; and law enforcement, judges, doctors, and close family may submit written complaints on potentially risky drivers.
Colorado License Renewal Procedures for Senior Citizens
Drivers 61 and older who want to renew their licenses must follow certain criteria.
Drivers 61 and older must renew every 5 years, while younger drivers must renew every 10 years. There is no online renewal for drivers 66 and older, but they may verify their eligibility for mail renewal by sending their name, date of birth, and license number to the Colorado Department of Revenue online.
Drivers aged 66 and over are required to have a vision test.
If there are signs of driving impairment, a written test may be needed based on a report from law enforcement, a court, a physician or optometrist, or a family member.
If there are signs of driving impairment, a road test may be needed based on a report from law enforcement, a court, a physician or optometrist, or a family member.
License Restrictions That Might Exist
After conducting a driving test and discussing potential limits with the driver, the Colorado DMV may impose restrictions or conditions on his or her driver’s license.
The most prevalent limitation for senior drivers is the need for corrective lenses or glasses.
Other typical criteria imposed by the DMV on elderly drivers include:
no highway driving
a second right side mirror on a car
No driving at night, and time of day limitations, such as no driving during rush hour traffic.
How to Request a Colorado Unsafe Driver Investigation
Written requests to have a driver examined or reexamined by the Colorado DMV may originate from:
law enforcement officers courts; this normally happens if a court concludes that a person is not mentally competent doctors or optometrists, or close relatives (including a spouse, parent, or kid). The cause for the re-exam or medical need must be included in the request. The individual making the request must also provide his or her complete name, address, and connection to the driver. Such requests are not kept private; drivers may get a copy of the request for a price of $2.20.
Doctors’ Reporting Obligations
Colorado doctors are urged, but not compelled, to report to the DMV their patients’ conditions that may cause a loss in consciousness, seizures, or other medical disorders that may impair their ability to drive safely.
How to Restore a Driver’s License
Contact one of the Driver’s License Offices located around the state for information on how to reinstate a suspended or revoked license.
How to Obtain Parking Placards or License Plates for a Disabled Driver
Drivers with restricted mobility may be awarded parking placards and license plates provided the condition is verified by a competent medical expert.
Placards and license plates are also offered to people who:
are unable to walk more than 200 feet without resting; are unable to move without the assistance of a mechanical device; or have significant lung problems
If you have a serious cardiac problem or a restricted capacity to walk owing to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic disease, you should utilize portable oxygen.
The following steps must be taken in order to receive a disability placard or plate:
Fill out and sign a Parking Privileges for People with Disabilities Application.
The center section of the form should be completed by a licensed physician, commissioned medical officer, advanced practice nurse, physician’s assistant, podiatrist, chiropractor, or physical therapist.
Send the original application to the address specified on the form.