Learn about special driving regulations and initiatives aimed at keeping Nevada’s elderly drivers and highways safe.
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) enforces a plethora of laws and regulations that apply to drivers of all ages and stages; nonetheless, the state imposes certain unique requirements and limitations on senior drivers.
The Nevada state standards are discussed in further detail below, but many of them concentrate on detecting and dealing with elderly drivers who may have become risky.
Drivers 65 and older must renew their licenses in person, and the DMV accepts requests for dangerous driver investigations from family members, police enforcement, state agencies, and other groups.
Table of Contents
Nevada License Renewal Procedures for Senior Citizens
Drivers 65 and older who want to renew their licenses must follow certain regulations.
Time limits: Drivers 65 and older must renew every four years, while younger drivers must renew in person every eight years. If they get a full-page application with their renewal notification, drivers 65 and older may be able to renew their license by mail or fax.
Vision test: Required upon renewal and may be required more regularly depending on DMV or medical professional discretion. Drivers may have an exam conducted by an independent physician or optometrist, who must obtain an Eye Examination Certificate and conduct the exam within 90 days of the renewal request.
Written exam: Based on medical or driving history, a written test may be necessary.
A road test may be necessary depending on your medical history or driving record.
License Restrictions That Might Exist
The DMV has the authority to impose limits or conditions on a driver’s license based on medical issues or history.
The most prevalent limitation for senior drivers is the need for corrective lenses or glasses.
Other frequent regulations that the DMV may put on older drivers in Nevada include:
No vehicle used on the highway must have an automatic gearbox.
A vehicle must include an extra right side mirror and a left foot accelerator while driving while wearing a prosthetic device.
Driving only during daylight hours, with a speed limit of 45 mph or less, and when wearing telescopic lenses.
Licenses may also require a vision exam, a driving test, or a medical checkup every six months or annually if the driver’s doctor determines that a medical condition warrants it.
How to Request a Nevada Unsafe Driver Investigation
Family members, law enforcement officials, and representatives from state agencies and other groups may provide information about a potentially risky driver to the Nevada DMV. DMV employees may also begin their own enquiries.
Concerned family may fill out a Request for Re-Evaluation form, which describes the driver and their concerns. A notary or a DMV official must witness their signing. In addition, the request must be backed by an affidavit from a doctor stating that the driver should be re-evaluated.
Officers of the law or representatives of state agencies who have witnessed a motorist and are worried about his or her dangerous driving should file a Request for Re-Examination; such requests do not need to be supported by a doctor’s affidavit.
A DMV representative who “has reasonable grounds to believe” that a driver has a physical or mental disability or disease that contributes to unsafe driving may request physical or mental examinations and reports from a licensed physician, psychiatrist, psychologist, certified drug and alcohol counselor, or any other competent authority in order to complete a Confidential Physician’s Report on that driver.
How to Restore a Driver’s License
The requirements for restoring a suspended or revoked license differ depending on the scenario. See “License Suspensions & Revocations” for further information.
How to Obtain Disabled Driver Parking Placards or License Plates
Drivers with restricted mobility may be awarded disabled parking placards and license plates provided a competent medical practitioner recognizes the condition.
Placards and license plates are available for people who:
cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest cannot walk without using or being assisted by a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive equipment have a serious heart condition
have severe lung illness, are severely restricted in their ability to move owing to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic ailment, have a vision handicap, or utilize portable oxygen.
To receive a disability placard or plate, follow these steps:
Fill out and sign an application for Disabled Persons License Plates and/or Placards.
The second part of the application should be completed by a qualified physician, physician’s assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse.
First-time applicants must apply in person at a DMV location near them, bringing their car registration and current Nevada proof of insurance.
Learn More About Nevada Senior Driving Laws
Nevada drivers may find a lot of information on the DMV website, including links to the relevant rules and regulations. The “Driver’s Handbook,” which contains explanations of license and car registration laws as well as driving safety suggestions, is particularly interesting.