To guarantee appropriate administration of the state sales tax, your company must first register with the state Tax Commission.
California, with millions of verified cases to date, is one of the states most severely afflicted by the epidemic. Despite the fact that vaccinations are being provided, economic recovery has been gradual due to the tiered reopening strategy.
According to a Small Business Majority poll done in August 2020, 44 percent of small firms are at risk of shutting owing to COVID-19. Small companies produce “two-thirds of new employment and employ over half of all private sector employees,” according to Governor Gavin Newsom’s office, and “99.8 percent of all firms in the state, employing 7.2 million people in California, or 48.5 percent of the state’s total workforce.”
The state has been delivering COVID-19 economic measures and aid to help small firms keep the lights on and prevent layoffs. Small company owners must understand how to navigate the California sales tax environment in 2021 to determine if any of these efforts will assist them.
California’s Sales Tax
After calculating the sales tax to charge their consumers, California companies are obliged to submit and file sales tax reports.
California’s tax rate is 7.25 percent. This includes the state sales tax rate of 6.00 percent as well as an additional 1.25 percent municipal fee. In California, there are also several district sales tax rates. The most recent sales tax rates for your district may be found here.
The modified-origin statute makes California a difficult state in which to calculate how much sales tax you must collect. In summary, you must collect 7.25 percent sales tax plus a district rate from your clients. In other words, the sales and use tax rates will fluctuate based on where your firm is located. You may discover your rate by clicking here.
In 2021, there will be changes to the California Sales Tax.
Following Governor Newsom’s executive order declaring a state of emergency in California as a consequence of COVID-19, the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) has enacted various modifications to provide assistance to companies during the epidemic.
These are some of the most critical distinctions to be aware of.
Small companies have more time to submit their taxes.
There are around 4.1 million small enterprises in California, employing approximately 7.2 million people.
Governor Newsom’s administration offered various initiatives in recognition of the importance of small companies in driving economic development. Among these measures is a three-month delay in filing and paying taxes and fees for small enterprises reporting sales taxes and levies of less than $1 million.
The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration has pushed out the deadline for filing sales tax returns from December 15, 2020 to April 30, 2021. This implies that companies will have more time to submit forms and pay their taxes without incurring interest or penalties.
California taxpayers may additionally deduct any disaster-related loss incurred after January 1, 2014, but before January 1, 2024, in an area designated by the President or the Governor to be under a state of emergency.
Larger organisations may qualify for an interest-free 12-month payment plan.
If a company’s annual sales are less than $5 million, it is eligible for a 12-month, interest-free payment plan that allows it to delay payments for up to $50,000. Instead of paying all sales taxes at once, a company might pay them in twelve payments.
Businesses that have sales tax returns due between December 15, 2020, and April 30, 2021 are eligible. A no-interest payment plan is available if the company pays in full before April 30, 2022.
This is the state’s second programme, and people who participated in the prior one are able to apply for the current one as well. If a company wishes to apply for this programme, they must do so using the CDTFA’s online services system.
In California, online retailers are being sought for past sales and income tax.
The CDTFA (California Department of Tax and Fee Administration) is in charge of collecting sales and use tax. In 2019, they started chasing out-of-state internet retailers for taxes. These initiatives will be carried on in 2021.
California will consider a distant or online vendor to have a “economic nexus” when a merchant earns $500,000 in sales in a twelve-month period or conducts more than 200 transactions during the same time. If one of those levels is satisfied, the merchant is required to collect and pay sales tax, regardless of whether the shop has a physical presence in the state.
In October 2020, it was reported that several Amazon sellers in California got letters from the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration seeking payment of past-due income tax because they owned inventory in the state.
The seller has the burden of proving that they are exempt from paying California sales taxes. If your company sells online, you can learn more about calculating your taxes here.
What the California Sales Tax Might Mean and Beyond
In the near term, small firms may profit from interest-free payment arrangements and a longer reporting time. The California government thinks that by assisting companies in staying afloat during this period, local economies would recover from the epidemic more quickly.
However, California’s legislature may continue to address the epidemic with more tax measures in 2021 and beyond, perhaps changing how companies tax consumers and submit returns. As tax policy progresses, it is critical to keep track of how future changes may effect California small companies.